Jacket A La Sherlock Holmes

IMG_9579Finally, I’m finished! I have been working on this jacket for a couple of weeks, between other sewing projects and teaching sewing lessons. I deliberately took my time, and made all the changes to the coat bit by bit. I’ve learned to stop sewing when I’m tired or the light is not good. It’s never a good idea to hurry and risk messing something up. I am very pleased with the final result. Yippy!

IMG_9575

After I finished the jacket the first time. I realized that I didn’t like the style of the pointy fronts, even though that was what attracted me to the pattern in the first place.

photo 2

photo 1  I asked my Facebook friends and commenters on my blog for their opinions about what I should do. I got lots of good ideas, both to keep it like it was, and to change it. The one I liked the best was “Go with what makes you the happiest”.  I used the longer version so that I could have pockets, so I had to take into account the length of the pocket bag inside when I changed the length. Basically, I cut it the same length as the back and the pocket bag was fine. I had to unpick the lining that I added, entirely from the bottom, then measure everything carefully and cut a new line on both the jacket and the lining.

IMG_9573Before I sewed it back together, I decided to add shoulder pads which were upcycled from an existing jacket. I also made belt loops that were sewn to the sides.

IMG_9574                                                                                                                                 

image_V9037_2

 Fabric: mystery wool blend, plaid fabric from the flat-fold table at Beverly’s
Pattern: Vogue 9037 Very Easy Unlined Jacket
Year: 2014
Notions: interfacing, shoulder pads, two big snaps, silk lining
Time to complete: Enough time to do a nice job! (Several weeks, but who’s counting?)
First worn: November 14 on a lunch date with husband and mother-in-law
Wear again? I’ll be wearing it often! It’s the perfect weight, and really dresses up a pair of jeans.
Total price: Less than $20.oo in materials, free labor!

Pop on over the zibergirl.com to see the lining I made for this unlined coat.

18 thoughts on “Jacket A La Sherlock Holmes

  1. Great jacket! I like how you changed the hem – it looks a lot better and a lot more balanced than the original pointy-hem version did! 🙂

    Like

  2. I like the modifications you made to the hem. It makes the jacket seem lighter and fresher and it has ended up at a very flattering length.

    Like

Comments are closed.