It’s Elementary My Dear Watson

Jeri here from sunny South Carolina and the blog My Modern Vintage. When the gals decided to start The Monthly Stitch I was super excited to be a part…until I saw the August challenge! Don’t get me wrong, I love the look of capes and they always remind me of Audrey Hepburn or Sherlock Holmes but since I live in a climate where the humidity is near 100% for months at a time it is hard to imagine how a cape would fit in to my wardrobe.

That’s where the tips in this post came in handy. I started a search for an easy cape and actually found one named after Audrey from In Honor of Design.  I made a  slight tweak by cutting more of an oval shape instead of completely round and I also added a lining but other than that it was pretty true to the original.

I tried buttonholes by machine for the first time and let me tell you, it was a pain! I definitely need a lot more practice to get proficient so before long you may see me finally tackle the Hawthorn shirtdress that is in my UFO pile. Overall I am really pleased with how the final garment looks. The oval shape covers my arms well but doesn’t hang down so far that I need to have slits to fit my arms through. I can definitely see my fabric sale sleuthing skills put to work while wearing this cape!

Wingspan

15 thoughts on “It’s Elementary My Dear Watson

  1. I can relate to the Cape for August surprise, it’s been hot in CA too. My cape is made of wool, and probably won’t be worn until December. I like the style of yours. The black binding is a nice touch.

    Like

  2. Very cute! Love the black trim, it’s a great contrast. 🙂

    Good luck with the Hawthorn buttonholes! (No matter how many of them I do, buttonholes always scare me a little…. *sigh*)

    Like

  3. What a great cape! I love the fabric combination. I can recommend practicing on scrap fabric (although I think your buttonholes look great), I did my first welt pocket on the cape and even though the welt itself looks fine, it’s the wrong way around… So, should’ve tried it first on a scrap…

    Like

  4. Hi Jeri, your cape looks great! Love the black trim and I am a sucker for houndstooth! 🙂 This looks like a great pattern, sort of like a wrap with buttons, simple and easy but looks amazing. Good luck practising your button holes, I always do a few practise ones for each new project on off-cuts of my project fabric, tweaking until I am happy with tension and length.

    Like

  5. Pingback: The “Elementary My Dear Watson” Cape | my modern vintage

Join the conversation! :)

