1950s Jacket-Cape

Thanks for having me in the Monthly Stitch, Mel, Kat and Juliet!

I started making this cape a week before the end of August deadline, assuring myself that capes were simple garments and would undoubtedly be quick to make :).

Side view

Back view

As you can see, my project planning skills are hopeless – BUT I did get to make my first ever bound buttonhole (woohoo!).

Bound buttonhole + vintage button

The wool plaid is a lucky op shop find – and as there was just 1.85m of it, it was quite a challenge to match up the not quite square plaid across seams.  I made the bound buttonhole before thinking about the button (oops). but luckily I found I had a some vintage buttons that were just the right size. My lining is just regular modern lining fabric from Lincraft, but it feels too skimpy against the wool – I should have used something more substantial.

My pattern was Vogue 2934, a reissue of a vintage pattern from 1950 – it’s a loose, lined cape with a flared back, funnel neckline and dolman sleeves. The pattern describes this garment as a ‘jacket’ (because it has sleeves, I guess?) but to me it has a classic A-line cape shape, and the sleeves would hardly be noticeable if it weren’t for their length. [Does that sound convincing?] To be honest, I hadn’t read the description on the back of the pattern envelope till I came to write this post… I’d assumed that a thing that looked a cape was a cape!

Cape-shape

I’m really happy with the way this cape has turned out, and it feels surprisingly good to wear…. capes rock!

See you in the vintage challenge

Gabrielle UpSewLate

14 thoughts on “1950s Jacket-Cape

  1. Hi Gabrielle, this is gorgeous! I have the same pattern and was considering making it, but wasn’t able to find the right fabric! Your version looks fantastic, I think I’ll have to add this project to my ‘make list’ for next winter.

    I never even considered this pattern as a jacket – I thought it had all the markings as a cape instead!

    Like

    • Thank you Juliet! You should definitely make one of these, it feels quite unusual and special on and I’m sure it would look fabulous on you 🙂

      Funny isn’t it – I have quite a few vintage cape patterns in my stash, and some of them are definitely more jacket-like than this one – and yet they’re called capes! I read a definition of the word “cape” that said something along the lines of “sleeveless, loose, hangs from shoulders” but I think that’s just ignoring all the hybrids out there.

      Like

    • Thank you! I’ll probably stuff up bound buttonholes from here on in though – beginner’s luck, I reckon! The buttons actually look as though they’re supposed to slip through a small buttonhole of their own as they came with backing pins – but I’ve only seen buttons used that way on a vintage dress shirt and I was already running so late that I thought I should just do regular button sewing….

      Like

  2. Wow – this is just fab (and well worth overshooting a deadline ever-so-slightly to get those lovely details so spot on!). I was originally going to use this pattern, but then realised I did not have quite enough of the fabric I had in mind. Boo!

    Before this challenge I did not really know if I wanted a cape, but having seen everybody’s makes I now realise I need SEVERAL capes – they have all been so inspiring!

    Like

    • Thank you, I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one that classes this pattern as a cape! I would definitely recommend this pattern but I didn’t think all the instructions were the most efficient… Also I think it’s one of those patterns worth measuring up before sewing – I found it a bit short waisted and long sleeved (even though I am short waisted with long-ish arms!).

      I know, isn’t it awesome – there are so many amazing capes in this challenge, and so many great variations!

      PS welcome to the blogosphere; it was a pleasure to discover your blog!

      Like

  3. Very nice! I love how you managed to do such great plaid matching with so little fabric. I’m in awe of those bound buttonholes. I have to try those again some time. It looks really great on you.

    Like

    • Thank you, I’m a bit of a stickler for pattern matching but it certainly adds to the time to make things! I was surprised that the bound buttonhole worked out – but it was probably beginner’s luck; probably my next attempts will be abysmal! Thanks so much!

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

