’51 Domestic Goddess

I love sewing dresses but I don’t usually sew vintage!   My intuition must have known something I didn’t, because about three months ago when sewingpatterns.com had a Butterick sale I acquired Butterick Retro ’51; and then The Monthly Stitch chose Vintage Patterns for it’s second challenge.

 

I am really smitten by the bodice of this dress and in particular the neckline.  I really like the version on the left of the envelope, but rather than a chiffon my fabric of choice was cotton voile – because I was also sewing this dress as part of the Fall for Cotton sew-along (yeah, two for one!)

I am SUPER happy with the dress and it’s construction.  It feels fabulous to wear – fit and fabric.

The pattern didn’t provide for a lining – it was a dress and a separate slip.  That didn’t make sense to me because the dress was very fitted through to the waist but the slip was just straight up and down???  So I went about making my own lining (as ya do!).

I really like the finished length – I shortened the skirt pattern by a good 5″.  The dress makes me feel like a 1950’s domestic goddess, perhaps because this dress is so far removed from my normal style it makes me feel like someone other than myself 🙂

❤ Sandra

I blog at sewiststitch.blogspot.co.nz  and more photos are on my Flickr

15 thoughts on “’51 Domestic Goddess

  1. That’s a beautiful fabric, so unusual and pretty. Lovely dress and the back style lines are very flattering. It’s often the one area of a dress that gets forgotten – they really knew how to pay attention to the whole pattern back then, didn’t they? 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

