side button trousers

A big thank you to the monthly stitch for giving me the kick in the pants I needed to make my first ever pair of pants!  (Or trousers – do pyjama bottoms count?).  Even though I didn’t get them finished until the first week in March, the challenge was a definite motivation.

Here is a pants summary –

pattern:  Burdastyle 08/2011 #130 (downloadable)

fabric:  light weight cross weave from Fantazia Fabricland (Tweed Heads)

notions:  buttons (Spotlight), rayon seam binding (ebay), Rasant thread

modifications:  legs cropped and tapered, side seam splits added

Am I happy with them?:  Yes!  They have a button placket on one side seam and a pocket in the other

This was also my first Burda pattern (a Burdastyle downloadable).  Pants making was one of my big sewing goals and I am inspired to make more in the future.  This has also encouraged me to start blogging again, so you can find more about this garment on my blog.

I didn’t get these done quite in time, so I don’t think I’d go well on the Miss Bossy challenge, but I’m certainly looking forward to the Sewing Double challenge ;o)

2 thoughts on “side button trousers

Join the conversation! :)

