Just in case…

MissBossy Patterns was a little indecisive about her choice, and I did make the GuyLaRoche jacket that I think that she wanted, but just in case I had been mistaken, and it was genuinely a dead heat, I thought I’d better do the Butterick dress too.   After all, practically everyone else on the internet has made this dress.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a cotton print that I had got off trade-me, and made my own bias binding with the machine that Mum got me for Christmas. The more I use that machine, the more I appreciate how easy it makes binding.
The pattern is really simple! Just a few pieces which fitted together really easily. I ditch stitched the binding down by hand, which took a while, but wasn’t really arduous; I didn’t trust my topstitching skills and it does look quite clean.

As almost everyone has commented, there is a risk of a bit of bra showing under the arms, and I’m not 100% sure about the neckline on me. It is a really comfortable dress, but NOT cycle friendly. The back skirt, which is tied up at the front, quickly blows back, and the front skirt, which has no centre back seam to secure it, works its way forward. Unchecked there would be vast gaps with no dress at all!

I’ve talked about the first time I wore this dress on my blog

 

3 thoughts on “Just in case…

  1. I am a big walk-away dress fan, I should really make another because I love wearing my first version 🙂 Your fabric is gorgeous, beautiful job! Miss Bossy Patterns is very impressed with your double effort! 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

