Sew Bossy, Sew late!

Hi everyone! I finally managed to get myself organized enough to post my Sew Bossy challenge…. I’m like the insolent kid in the classroom who’s deliberately late to rile the teacher right now, haha!

Easily the most popular choice of yours was Sewaholic’s Cordova in some lovely red boucle. I’m not going to lie, I was really quite disappointed that it won. I thought it was an ugly combo and I hadn’t even imagined it as a possibility! I did consider making the second most popular option, but decided that that wasn’t in the spirit of Miss Bossy, so I made it anyway.

And well, you proved me wrong. I wasn’t sold on it at first but over the past week this jacket has grown on me and I now absolutely love it! My favourite feature is easily the articulated fish pendant that I added to the zipper pull…. it makes me squee with delight every time I see it! The jacket is also super snuggly – being wool and lined with silk, it feels sublime to wear.

I’m really looking forward to making another Cordova – the pattern came together really quickly and while I thought the instructions were a bit short – only one page – it wasn’t too much of a challenge. I definitely need more jackets now that winter is coming, and I just retired my old faithful black coat after 6 years worth of wear (!), so expect to see more Cordova’s on my blog in the future!

As always there’s more talk and photos over on my blog – and my sewing double challenge is nearly done, so at least I’ll be on time this month!

8 thoughts on “Sew Bossy, Sew late!

  1. What a cool idea for the zipper pull! Moth holes, yes, my love of wool has made me very familiar with that problem too, lucky you having enough fabric to recut. In the past I’ve had to do some sneaky darning…

    Like

  2. Wow I really love that jacket! I’m glad you were convinced because I think it looks super classy. And I can see why you’d squeal with delight every time you see that zipper pull!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

