Bossy Floral Fourties

Yep, it’s a bit late. This was meant to be done in March.

And to be fair, I did start it at the start of March! But then it misbehaved so spent a fair bit of time in the naughty corner while I did some comfort sewing instead.

But now, it’s finally finished! And after it all, I even quite like it. 🙂

(And better late than never, right? Right?!?!?!)

*ahem*

Back in February, when we were getting people to pick what we should make for the March challenge, the winner from my options was McCall 5676, a pretty dress pattern from 1944, to be made up in a soft floral cotton. I was rather happy that this one won – I’ve been looking forward to making up this dress ever since I got given the pattern, and now it’s time had come!

(Even if it did have buttons down the back, which has always confused me. How on earth do you get in and out of garments that button down the back? Far easier than I was expecting, as it turns out. Believe it or not, I haven’t had any trouble doing them up or undoing them while wearing this dress. I am no longer going to be afraid of back-buttoning patterns! A whole new world of vintage patterns has opened up to me!!)

So, this dress. It did give me a couple of fit issues, the main one being that the waist was a bit too low so I had to raise it. The other issue was the fit at the back, which gaped open at the top. As a friend pointed out, it would have been fine if I’d worn the neckline wider (as it is probably intended to be worn) but, well, I didn’t want to wear it that wide, so instead I just re-positioned the buttons at the back.

I made the version with cap sleeves, omitting the lace trim and just leaving them plain.

And check it out, my favourite part of this dress – hidden pockets in the front seams! Never seen them there in a pattern before – I may have to copy this idea in the future. 😉

Want some more details? Feel free to head on over to my blog.

4 thoughts on “Bossy Floral Fourties

    • Thanks! 🙂

      Haha, there seems to be a lot of us who were/are super late with the March challenge! Wonder if the added pressure of everyone knowing what we were going to make slowed us all down….!?

      Like

  1. Very nice. I’m in love with buttons down the back on my shirts and dresses and buttons on the side on shorts, pants, and skirts. I’m going to find a way to make everything with closures that way 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂

      I went through a stage for a couple of years of avoiding buttons, thankfully I’ve rediscovered how fabulous they are now! 😉

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

