Double Dolly – a late April challenge

2014_04_badge1The April challenge for the Monthly Stitch was Sewing Double. The idea was to revisit a pattern you’d already made – maybe change it up a bit – or make 2 versions of the same pattern. I did a bit of both.

The bodice of this dress is the perennially popular Elisalex from By Hand London, which I have made twice before here and here. I mixed it up from my previous versions by adding the skirt from New Look 6223.

Sewing Double 2

I made these dresses back in April and thought they could do double duty as my entries for the Sew Dolly Clackett competition. Sadly, though they were both finished in good time I did not manage to photograph them for either the SDC or TMS challenge deadlines.

I found both of the fabrics on ebay. There is not much to say about the Elisalex bodice that has not been said before. I find it fabulously easy to make up and I love it paired with this pleated skirt.

Beach_huts_Elisalex_mashup11

On the second version, I matched my stripes like a boss on the centre back seam (though nowhere else). For some reason this version does not seem to fit quite so well as all my other Elisalex (and none of them are completely perfect). It is nothing I can’t live with, though.

If Dolly Did Stripes2

Sadly I neither under stitched my lining nor topstitched my bodice, so my lining seems to be making an appearance in these pics…

I am sure that these will not be the last Elisalex dresses I ever sew, but now it’s time to move on to some knit separates for this month’s challenge.

Sewing Double 3

As ever, if you want to see more pictures of my tired face and overgrown garden (or even the dresses), not to mention read more of my waffle, you can head on over to my blog .

4 thoughts on “Double Dolly – a late April challenge

Join the conversation! :)

