A 1960’s Moneta Sweater

My first post! After discovering the amazing Moneta pattern by Colette Patterns and copious lurking this site around for months looking at all the amazing creations people made I finally got brave enough to jump in! I used the Moneta dress pattern with the tutorial of the optional cropped sweater. Since I tend to wear knits all the time, I figured it was the perfect easy experiment. And it was! I would say, including pattern cutting, this took me about 3 hours tops.

I used a black ponte knit from Britex . I wanted something a little sturdier than a regular knit for the collar. (The original pattern calls for a more lightweight jersey knit) The collar itself was based on dress inspiration from vintage patterns and Mad Men and drafted from a 1960’s design book. The ponte knit was sturdy enough on its own to support the weight of the collar without interfacing. I am really pleased with the way it turned out!

close up

The pattern itself was super easy to sew. I would recommend it if you were looking for a quick, professional looking project. As I said above, it took about a morning to put together and sew. As someone who does not have a Serger, I appreciated the techniques for finishing the inside edges and twin needle hemming. When I make it again (and again and again and again) I will probably experiment with an FBA. I cut a medium and it hits me slightly above the waist (without the ribbing.) If I wanted to be able to tuck it into skirts I would need the extra length to keep it from riding up.

The back of the sweater looks the same as the front! It was a pretty straightforward project.

In the end, it a pretty awesome canvas to experiment with. Now that I have sewn one and gotten the basic sewing knits techniques down, I plan on making a bunch more with the vintage drafting books that keep piling up on my dining room table!

If you want to see a bunch more pictures (and make me super flattered) you can check them out here: http://curveddarts.blogspot.com/2014/05/moneta-top-and-byhandlondon-charlotte.html

9 thoughts on “A 1960’s Moneta Sweater

  1. Love it! That style really suits you. 🙂 And, congrats on your first post! Looking forward to seeing what you make in the future. 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

