Nothing says Summer like a Maxi dress

I love maxi dresses because:

  1. Easy 1 piece dressing
  2. Long skirt = high glamour
  3. Comfortable as a muumuu
  4. No shaving of legs required
  5. Stay nice and cool

monthlystitchdress4

My entry for the dress challenge is Lekala pattern #4142. It is a blouse pattern that I lengthened to mazi length. The top yoke is deep blue chambray and the dress is a lovely drapey jersey. I do like it with or without the belt, but thought the belt was cute for photos.

monthlystitchdress3The instructions on Lekala patterns aren’t very clear, but I enjoy putting things together my own way, so I just lined the yoke so I didn’t have facings or topstitching around the neck and armholes and joined it at the shoulders. It looks nice and smooth that way.

Putting together the placket was a precise and fiddly project, but is just the detail this simple dress needed! I chose some mother of pearl buttons for a little shimmer, too.

monthlystitchdress6

 

I love how this dress turned out, and I love sewing for a competition. Thanks The Monthly Stitch for motivating me!

For all the details you can come check it out my blog at www.grayallday.wordpress.com.

13 thoughts on “Nothing says Summer like a Maxi dress

  1. Pingback: And the winners of the Dresses contest are….. | The Monthly Stitch

Join the conversation! :)

