Monochrome Kay Unger

Yeah I know this was in July, but… photos in winter are not easy to come by. So I made another dress and this time it’s from one of the big 4 – shock horror! It’s a long time since I’ve made something from the big 4.

This is the Kay Unger Vogue 1353 pattern with a scoop back and scoop front. The front neckline is pleated, as is the skirt. The fitted bodice has princess seams with additional bust darts. The whole dress is lined as well.

I used the lining as a muslin for this dress. The pattern states the waist sits above the natural waist, but I’m not really a fan of that and I often find the waist length is too short anyway, so I added an extra inch to the bodice length. I also found the bust darts were too high – as usual…

The deets
Fabric: A black and white flowered quilting cotton from Made on Marion in April 2014 (it didn’t stay in stash for long!) The lining is a plain white cotton.
Notions: Thread, interfacing for the neckline, dress zip and pale grey embroidery floss for the hem.

Pattern: Vogue 1353 Kay Unger design
First worn: For the LIANZA Children’s Book Awards at the National Library of New Zealand on 4 August. To this event I wore it with opaque black tights, black shoes from Overland and a RTW cropped black cardigan from Next, UK (about 2006.) These photos are a mix from my deck and somewhere on Mt Vic here in Wellington taken by Kat last week.
Changes made: I lengthened the bodice by an inch and also lengthened the skirt by a couple of inches. I shifted the bust darts down about half inch. I also put in a centred zip as opposed to the invisible zip.
Recommend? I actually think this is a really great pattern. It’s a great fit and shape and I’m really happy with my make. I don’t think it’s “Easy” though, not for a beginner. There are a lot of pleats – you have been warned!

For more about the pattern, my thoughts, photos, plus a couple of outtakes, check out my blog.

8 thoughts on “Monochrome Kay Unger

Join the conversation! :)

