Color Shun Simplicity 1939

My plan for Monosewn was to make a little black day dress for work wear. The solid black fabric is a sueded faille purchased from fabric.com a few years ago. 

The pattern I chose is Simplicity 1939 from the Cynthia Rowley Collection. I made view C and added the yoke skirt trim from view A. My trimming is a solid black 3/8″ wide velvet ribbon. 

The pattern construction was fairly straight forward. Note lots of gathering on this garment. I made a few modifications to the pattern pieces. I had to shorten the bodice length by 3/4″ and shorten the length of the skirt by 2″ as well as raising the center front neckline slit. 

For the dress closure the side zipper extends down the skirt side seam from the waistline and then the bodice side seam implements snaps to close. 

The dress is hemmed with a simple narrow hem. 

I flat lined the skirt yoke front and back for additional structure. To keep with the theme of non color sewing I used a solid white stretch woven. I overlocked my seam allowances for a clean interior finish. 

Inner Garment Front View

Inner Garment Back View

 

6 thoughts on “Color Shun Simplicity 1939

Join the conversation! :)

