Accidentally His ‘n’ Hers

I didn’t intentionally set out to create matching his’n’hers tops for my husband and I!

I had originally mail ordered this merino/poly sweatshirting from The Fabric Store in order to make my husband a second Strathcona Henley.  The shop called me back to let me know there was a fault running along the length of the bolt and asking me if I wanted to choose a different fabric or would it be ok if they just cut me extra to what I ordered.  I went with the second option; the assistant asked me thorough questions on what I was planning on making with the fabric and let me know they would send me out enough to enable me to cut around the fault.  Well, I was pleasantly surprised when the package arrived and there was twice the amount of fabric that I ordered!  I haven’t shopped from The Fabric Store much (since I live 4 hours away from the closest one) but each time I’ve had great service.

I cut out my husbands Strathcona and then realised, working around the fault, I’d also be able to cut out a long-sleeve t’shirt for myself.  I went with the free Plantain pattern from Deer and Doe.

I like this fabric because it’s almost double sided (grey/green) and has an interesting texture.  I gave my husband first dibs on what colour side he wanted, thinking that would be a good way for us not to look like we are t’shirt twins.  He opted for green (even though this is my favourite colour.  Grrrr!)

I sewed my Plantain up first.  My measurements fell between the 38 and 40 so I went with 38.  I think if I was to sew this again in a finer knit then I’d probably even go down to the 36.  I used the grey side for the body and the green side as contrast for the elbow patches and neckline.  I used my sewing machine for all the seams and hems as I was using this project to teach a couple of novice sewers.

It was at this point that my husband decided the green side wasn’t really ‘him’ and wanted grey instead!

I sewed up his Strathcona in the same way as this previous one except I changed to the plain neckline this time around.  I used my overlocker and coverstitch to sew this garment up.

IMG_2469

So, yay! Two t’shirts (that we love) for the price of one.  Now we just need to agree on a wearing schedule so that we don’t become known around town as ‘that creepy couple who dress the same.’

IMG_2450

Posing with my ‘husband.’  Proof that he does actually exist can be found here.

11 thoughts on “Accidentally His ‘n’ Hers

  1. Pingback: In the Wild: Switching Seasons | Thread Theory

  2. What the….Mail order The Fabric Store!!! That’s an exciting newsflash! BTW I do love your henleys too. It is such a great pattern and you’ve done it justice. I’ve missed the fabric store since moving away so would love to be able to shop there online.

    Like

    • Yes! It takes a while to mail order though as it’s not online. You phone or email with an idea of what fabric you are after and then they post out samples, 10 at a time, and you can then order from that if you like anything.

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

