It’s Amnesty Month!

So I can present to you my Monosewn from July, I think it was July, it was so long ago!  This is not my first post to The Monthly Stitch, but it sure was my most difficult to post!  I finally had my dress finished a couple of days into August, and I couldn’t bring myself to post it on the Monosewn challenge after the deadline – must have something to do with me working with lawyers and the “rules”? Or maybe it was childhood nightmares about handing in homework late?

But now that I have Amnesty, I solemnly declare way back in July that I was determined to sew up a Monosewn, either Butterick B5554 or Butterick B4598, I just couldn’t decide which to use for the challenge.

 

I had my fabric picked out – a solid black Ponte de Roma, 72% polyester 28% rayon, and a black and white Barcelona, 95% polyester 5% spandex.  I wanted to colour block my dress, so it seemed that a pattern which had princess seams would be the easiest.  I finally picked Butterick B4598 – a vintage pattern given to me by my sister.

Unfortunately the pattern I did pick was meant for wovens and had pleats at the bottom of every princess seam and I was sure that they would not look very good with my knit fabrics, so I changed the pleats to godets!  I love the godets!  What do you think?

 

I would like to say there are more photos on my blog post here, but my husband was in charge of the camera for the photo shoot and it was just the same as if he was holding the TV remote control in his hands!  There is a bit more jibber jabber over at my blog, so come on over for a visit if you like.

So here it is… My Monosewn…

image47

I thank you, Monthly Stitch, for giving me another chance!

Happy sewing!

3 thoughts on “It’s Amnesty Month!

  1. Nicely done! I like how your combined the two fabrics. I have something very similar in my cue. It was supposed to be for MonoSewn as well, but I never got to it! Good for you, for posting it now. Jibber Jabber! I like that term. ;0

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

