One pattern piece magic

I mentioned it earlier: in the stretchy challenge I was thinking that the famous one piece twisted top from the first Pattern Magic book was the perfect choice. But what happened: Temperatures were rising in may. I made another one piece pattern then: No. 4 the One Piece Scoop Neck Asymmetric Top from  Drape Drape 2.

Now the temperatures are dropping. In the morning and evening one can feel that autumn is about to begin. But never the less in daytime it still is beautiful weather. Last year I bought this fabric at one of the local fabric stores. It’s a coupon. I original bought it for the drape scoop tee but the fabric ended in my closet because I found the fabric a little bit heavy for the tee.

This challenge gave me the change to get back to the one piece twisted top: a pattern from a sewing book, never made before and stretchy. I love one piece patterns. Not because I want a quick sew but for the construction. I was well pleased who the top fits. I’m still a little bit struggling with the twist at the end of the top, but I’m very happy how it looks and fits. It looks smart and I’m happy with the colours. It looks great on this pair of white trousers, but also with a pair of my jeans or brown trousers.

 

I’ve already made a second one. This fabric has a little wool. It was a coupon which I bought at Stoffenspektakel last year. I really love the colours, but when I put the pattern on the fabric I saw that there was a large circle cut out. This was a big disappointment. It was a struggle and a challenge to find the right way to lay the pattern on the fabric before cutting. It also sit nicely and doesn’t look bulky when I’m wearing it. Overall there was enough fabric leftover to make a scarf. With an other piece of fabric I made his tunnel scarf. To give it a little more of interest, I used the Japanese sashiko technique on the plain fabric. I never used this technique, so I’ve learned a new technique as well.

 

For me there is only one negative point about this pattern: there is a lot fabric loss. One can’t always make scarfs. But I will definitely make this pattern again.

6 thoughts on “One pattern piece magic

  1. Really like the brown top. I have the Drape Drape books too – good to know this pattern isn’t economical on fabric. Perhaps I won’t use for the expensive merino, then!

    Like

  2. Thanks. I love to buy coupons, but a disadvantage is sometimes the waste of fabric. Sometimes when I buy fabric by the meter I buy a little bit more because I already have something else in mind.

    Like

    • Thanks. I love to buy coupons, but a disadvantage is sometimes the waste of fabric. Sometimes when I buy fabric by the meter I buy a little bit more because I already have something else in mind.

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

