Denim Never Dies: Denim Polly Skirt

Denim Polly Skirt-Title Image-Make It Nifty

Inspiration

I’ve wanted to make a denim version of this skirt ever since I made my first Polly Skirt. When The Monthly Stitch announced their January challenge would be Denim Never Dies it was meant to be.

Denim Polly Skirt-Hanger Front-Make It NiftyPattern

Self Drafted Polly Skirt Pattern

Materials

  • Denim Fabric
  • Cotton lawn scraps from stash
  • Jeans Zip
  • Black thread
  • Top stitching thread

Construction

I washed the denim twice and pressed it with lots of steam before cutting out the pattern pieces. I’m hoping this will stop the skirt from shrinking when I was it.

I put it together in pretty much the same way as I did with my first version. It’s a very sturdy denim so sometimes the weight of it made it difficult to sew, especially bits where there was some fiddling to do, like the zip and the pockets. I’m glad I used a jeans zip because I don’t think that a regular invisible or dress zip would hold up quite as well.

Changes I made this time

  • Cut the waistband facing from lawn to reduce bulk at the waistline
  • Didn’t interface waistband

What I Like

  • I really like the lawn I used for the pockets and waistband facing
  • Zip is just long enough so that I can ‘step into’ the skirt and wiggle a bit to put it on
  • Pockets of course!

Denim Polly Skirt-Detail-Make It NiftyWhat I don’t like

  • Top stitching is a bit wonky in places
  • The seams are a bit bulky in places

Changes for next time

  • Use a lighter weight denim
  • Make a pattern adjust for the fit through the hips, perhaps take a tiny sliver out of the side seams at the waist and blend to nothing at the centre back and centre front

Numbers

The cost of this skirt has been kept down by a couple of things. I was able to get the materials at a bit of a discount and it didn’t take me nearly as long as it usually does for me to make something; for two reasons – I’ve made this pattern before, and an unlined skirt doesn’t have nearly as many seams as say a fit and flare dress with sleeves (like the Crazy Polka Dots Dress for example)

Pop over to my blog to find out how much this skirt cost in the end…

Final Comment

As I said before, I am probably going to wear the heck out of this skirt. My original Polly Skirt is a wardrobe workhorse, I wear it at least once a week, so this skirt should take some of the load off of it. It was really great to sew with a different fabric and to try out top stitching in a contrast top stitching thread. This skirt makes me so happy I feel like jumping…

Denim Polly Skirt-Jump-Make It Nifty

I’ve moved blogs, so you can now find me at MakeItNifty.com. Read the post about this skirt on my blog to see more pictures and find out how I ended up inserting the tricky zip on this skirt

Thanks for reading, until next time,

blogpostsignoff

10 thoughts on “Denim Never Dies: Denim Polly Skirt

Join the conversation! :)

