Me-Made-May for Him

His and Her for Me-Made-May

His and Her for Me-Made-May

I have made my husband a few shirts, but non of them were winners in his book, either because of the fit or the fabric choice. I was determined to get it right this time, and make him a great shirt that he would wear. I was successful this time! Yippie!

IMG_0702

Just after I finished the shirt, I took measurements of the changes that I made and applied them to the paper pattern. Then, in order to make a good reusable master pattern, I ironed the tissue pieces onto freezer paper, punched a hole in the top of each piece, inserted a book ring, and hung it up. It sight and in mind!IMG_0705

Unknown

  • Pattern? Why did you choose it? This is McCall’s 2149, An easy men’s casual shirt, with no button stand, or collar stand.
  • What fabric did you use? Why did you choose it? I used a 100% cotton, thread dyed, woven fabric from Joann’s. (My husband leans toward blue and blue plaid shirts, so I wanted to switch it up a little by including some yellow.
  • Would you recommend the pattern? Would you change anything next time? I like the pattern because of how easy it was, but I changed a few things which I will also change when I make it again. First of all, I added a back yolk by cutting the back pattern vertically about 6 inches down from the neck and then added seam allowance. Second, because the size is for a 42-44, the shirt was a little big for his 42 inch chest. I took in the sides almost two inches! When I adjusted the pattern for next time, I took out 1/2 inch through the horizontal middle of the front and the back, and then adjusted the sides by curving inward from under the arms and down the sides (that way, I saved the the armhole curve).
  • Any interesting details? I used a double needle to topstitch everywhere, I attached 6 buttons, not just five. I also made vertical buttonholes instead of  horizontal. Also I took care to match the fabric pattern on the sides and on the pocket. There is a bit of bias cut trim on the pocket, as I ran out of fabric and had to make do!
  • What do you think of your finished garment? If he’s happy, I’m happy. It was a successful project. Now I can buy better quality fabric and not be worried about it not turning out.
  • First worn? We went for a walk during Me-Made-May 2015. He wore his new shirt and I wore one of my Lekala dresses.

IMG_0700

Happy Sewing!

Hop on over to my blog for more sewing adventures: Zibergirl.com

2 thoughts on “Me-Made-May for Him

Join the conversation! :)

