The Holly Jumpsuit – Jumping Into June!

What is it about us bloggers that makes us rise to a challenge and push our sewing to places we wouldn’t normally go?  Last month a few of us crazily decided we would make Jumpsuits and “jump into June”.  As the big reveal was going to coincide with Indie Pattern month I decided to sew the Holly Jumpsuit from By Hand London.  Unfortunately it doesn’t fit into any category to enter the competitions, but I’d still like to share it with you.  If I make another, then it could be entered into the take 2 comp.

I’ve had the Holly pattern since last year.  I’m not really sure why I bought it. Maybe I thought I’d loose 2 stone and grow a few inches in height if I ate all my greens.   I didn’t.  But then after deciding to Jump into June I thought I’d give it a go.

I originally chose this fabric, but then made a top instead!  Oooops!

I made a muslin with an old sheet.  The trousers fitted really well, but extra fabric was needed around the bust:

So I added just over an inch to the height of the bodice and made another muslin:

Nearly!  But still not much draping going on!  I did a FBA, following the instructions on the BHL sewalong.

Wahay!  It worked!  I had more draping than a pair of curtains.  Too much really:

Excuse face pulling – it’s summer in the UK, just the weather for strappy Jumpsuits!

The next day I added a small modesty panel – just pinning it to my bra for now!  This resulted in a more wearable garment!

To say we agreed to make jumpsuits as a bit of a dare, and I know I wouldn’t have done it otherwise, I really love it!  Here it is with another recent make – my Morris blazer from Grainline Studios……

Ignore the orange shoes!!

Not sure what I love most about my Holly.  It turned out more dressed up than I imagined it would and I think I’ll wear it to a wedding night-do that we’ve been invited to in July.

I’m also 1/2 way through another BHL pattern – the Georgia Dress.  I’m hoping to get it finished in time to take part in the dresses challenge this week.

Good luck to you all, I’m loving see all your amazing dresses so far!

If you want to head over to my blog, Thimberlina, there’s more daft photos of me Jumping Into June, and a little more writing!

11 thoughts on “The Holly Jumpsuit – Jumping Into June!

  1. I’m impressed, anyone who makes and wears a jumpsuit deserves a prize of some sort, surely?! Especially when they make two muslins! Thanks for showing the muslins, that sort of stuff is really helpful to people like me who struggle with fitting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooo, you are so right about there not being a category for jumpsuits! I’m not a dress-wearer myself so I tend to sit out for this week. Could be different if jumpsuits were included. Anyway, I love the look! Looks great with the blazer and sandals.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

