Hello Bella!

Well hello indie pattern sewists,

I couldn’t resist this slightly scary opening shot :o), just because.

Crazy sew-er bids you greetings :o)

This is my paper planes Belladone dress by Deer and Doe. I purchased the pattern from an Adelaide supplier for $24.20 and have made up the dress in 100% cotton fabric by Belle & Boo called ‘Come Fly With Me‘. This fabric is so sweet and whimsical and I wandered past in on sale one day, and the rest is stash, er history! (I think I spent less than $20 on the fabric and seeing as this is the second time I’ve used the pattern that must be half the original price now, on price per use basis – don’t you think?)

I don’t have an overlocker so I zigzagged all the seams and also added the invisible zipper down the back which I’m pretty pleased with, and managed without a proper invisible zipper foot.

This is the second time I have made this dress and I made some changes this time around. I left off the key hole back, even though I completely adore that feature! due to fabric constraints. I also lengthened front and back bodice pieces by 3cm because I found in the first make the darts sat way too high on me, across the bust. The new darts are probably still a little higher than usual but the fit feels better. I narrowed the shoulder sections too. I also went down a size and made a 42.

The back neckline was quite gapey so I hand stitched a couple of narrow sections across the upper back and it works way better now. With the binding I did the traditional attachment and stitched in the ditch all the way around, which is a finish I really like.

I’m not super familiar with Indie Patterns in general and so I expected quite a lot from this one. I like the heavy paper pattern pieces, although they aren’t as easy to filed back into the envelope! I didn’t find the instructions or diagrams to be more explicit than patterns from ‘the big four’ which surprised me but maybe that was my perception about indie patterns, rather than what is usual. There is less use of sewing jargon and I wonder if that is more in keeping with the indie designers overall??

Without the keyhole back this is a lovely simple pattern to whip up and I think it probably took me 3 sittings to get it all done overall maybe 2.5-3 hours, which is easier than a round trip to town and trying on several garments and loving none! :o) Time well spent in my books.

The wild wilderness I posed in is our truly outrageous “front garden” – we are waiting on the landlord to give us the go-ahead with some landscaping plans – but it does helpfully prove where I ‘find my time to sew’. I must be doing it when other people are gardening!! I also realised that action shots when using the self timer on the tripod – not so successful!

I love indie month – so many great new dresses to pin and be inspire by and I am sure we all appreciate how hard the moderators work to get it to us and a big shout out to all the lovely, interesting, clever indie companies who so generously donate the prizes.

If you want to see more of my ‘stuff’ I blog at http://createhopeinspire.blogspot.com

Here’s to dresses that make you feel like you can fly and a wonderful sewing community to share them with.

love you more than a finished garment with no threads hanging off! xx

6 thoughts on “Hello Bella!

  1. Good job! I really like that pattern… it is a perfect style for showing off my tattoo on my upper back!! I think I’ll try this pattern – hope mine turns out as cute as yours!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

