The Peony Dress by Colette Patterns

My entry for this first week’s challenge of Indie Pattern Month is the Peony Dress by Colette Patterns.

I purchased this pattern last September at a local sewing boutique in Nashville. Although I have sewn a couple of Colette patterns from their hardcover book collection, this was my first stab at the Peony dress. I settled on Version 2 in a lightweight stretch cotton I picked up from SR Harris in Minneapolis. I made a muslin first and made some minor adjustments to fit. The pattern does not call for a lining and I decided to forego one since I was aiming for a simple summer dress. After making the muslin, the dress came together in about two days. I did not deviate in any substantial way from the instructions, except I skipped the optional belt because I was pleased with the simplicity of the design. The only other change I made was that I made my own bias tape for the first time and used that to finish the neckline rather than use the facing pattern pieces.

The only notions called for are a 22 inch invisible zipper and a hook and eye. Check out the inside of the dress:

The Colette pattern was a nice change from my normal routine of sewing up the Big Four. The presentation of the pattern instructions in the little booklet was elegant and the instructions were easy to follow.

All in all I think I would definitely try out other Colette patterns in the future.

For more on this and other projects please visit my blog at See Carmen Sew.

13 thoughts on “The Peony Dress by Colette Patterns

  1. Pingback: And the Dresses contest winners are…. | The Monthly Stitch

Join the conversation! :)

