The Myrtle dress

Pattern: Myrtle dress by Colette Patterns

This is designed for knit fabrics and has a beautifully draped cowl neckline, an elasticated waist and a flowing, gathered skirt. I have had this pattern in my stash since it was released in July last year so I am pleased to have finally used it.

Fabric:  The fabric I used is a rayon knit bought on impulse at a Spotlight sale for only $22.48!  I am so pleased I got the fabric, it was easy to work with and has such a nice drape.

Size and alterations:  I made the medium size and added a couple of inches to the length of the skirt.  I didn’t manage to match the stripes on the bodice side seams very well but I am so pleased with the matching on the skirt side and back seams. The only alteration I made was to omit the elasticated waist.  The way the casing for the elastic is made takes length from the skirt and I just didn’t want it any shorter plus I wasn’t sure the elasticated waistband would suit me.  So my dress is more shapeless than the pattern picture but I like it with a belt.


This was a quick and easy make, taking only about 2-3 hours and the instructions were very easy to follow as Colette Patterns always are.  I would definitely recommend it.

More information about my Myrtle and my hand knit cardigan can be found on my blog here.

6 thoughts on “The Myrtle dress

Join the conversation! :)

