Introducing Pauline, from Pauline Alice

We’re excited to welcome Pauline from Pauline Alice back as a sponsor this year. 

We learnt a bit about her pattern line last Indie Pattern Month so this year we talked about one pattern in particular and tried to get some sneaky hints about any upcoming new patterns. read on to hear more…

Hi Pauline! First up, tell us all a bit about your designs.  How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

My style is really feminine and retro, inspired by the 50-60’s in particular. This is highly reflected in the patterns I design I think. I like to include details that help learning new techniques and which are a bit challenging the seamstress! But for all the patterns, there is always a way to make it easier for the beginner and most of them are perfect for an everyday wardrobe.

How did your come up with the name for your label?

Well it’s really easy: Pauline is my first name and Alice second name !

We’d love to know the story behind your designs. Let’s talk about the Quart coat today. What was the inspiration behind the Quart coat pattern?

My favorite garments to sew are coats and jackets, which is a shame because where I live, winter is pretty mild. I’ve wanted to design a complex and structured coat for a long time, something inspired by the military wardrobe but still feminine (I was thinking about Alexander McQueen and Burberry’s beautiful outerwear).

Where did the name come from?

All the names of my patterns refer to a place or neighborhood of Valencia (where I live in Spain). “Quart” is the name of one of the two medieval doors of the old city wall from the 15th century.

Do you have many Quart coats in your own wardrobe? Which is your favourite?

I have 1 original Quart, 1 trench version and 1 biker jacket version. My favorite is definitively the “original” one because of the fabulous fabric: raw silk in midnight blue!

We’ve seen so many lovely ones that people have made! Do you have a favourite that you’ve seen someone make up?

I’ve seen some amazing versions from seamstresses all over the world and I love seeing the patterns made up in different fabrics, with added details, variations.

I don’t think I have a favourite one but there’s one that impressed me so much because of the tailoring and the amazing plaid matching: it’s Beth’s version. She was a pattern tester.

 

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon?  Any hints you can give us?  (We’re so impatient, haha!)

2 new patterns will be launched by the beginning of June, inspired by two iconic fashion ladies 😉

 

It’s great to see all of Pauline’s new patterns since we last chatted. Which is your favourite?

2 thoughts on “Introducing Pauline, from Pauline Alice

Join the conversation! :)

