Melissa in polka dots

Hey hey everybody! Guess what? I’ve completed the first of my June sewing goals that I spoke about in the meet-the-judges post! Excuse me while I give myself a little pat on the back for this one – sewing time has been rather sparse lately, so I’m pretty happy to have this one made. Plus, I love it! So that’s all good. 😉

Melissa in polka dotted chambray | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

This here is the Melissa dress by Muse Patterns. I’ve worn my other one so many times, I’ve been meaning to make another for a while now. I had it stuck in my head that I wanted one in polka dotted chambray, so when I spotted this gorgeous chambray from Minerva Crafts it all came together and had to happen asap!

Melissa pattern by Muse

Melissa pattern by Muse

Just for fun (and experimentation!) I paired it with a white crochet-look lace for the cuffs and back v inset. I really like how these work together – the lace gives it a fun and unexpected twist (plus even more unexpected moments when it’s a windy day and you get a breeze right between your shoulder blades haha!).

Melissa in polka dotted chambray | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The lace was too thick to use on the pocket edgings though, so I used the same chambray on those.

Melissa in polka dotted chambray | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The photos were taken by my lovely colleague Kelly – we may have ducked out of work briefly the other afternooon to get some pics by this graffitti on a nearby sub station! It’s winter over here at the moment (and yes, I was freezing when getting these photos taken!) so it’s dark by the time I finish work – always gives an added challenge for photographing makes. 😉

Melissa in polka dotted chambray | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

There’s a bunch more photos over on my blog if you’d like to see more.

(The chambray, lace and buttons were given to me to use for a project for the Minerva Bloggers Network.)

3 thoughts on “Melissa in polka dots

  1. Pingback: How did the judges go? | The Monthly Stitch

Join the conversation! :)

