Introducing Heather, from Closet Case Patterns

Another new indie designer making waves in the sewing world is Closet Case Patterns. Famous for patterns such as the Bombshell swimsuit and the Ginger jeans, Closet Case Patterns have a great knack of coming up with designs that are completely different from a lot of the other indie designers out there. Kat caught up with Heather, the talented woman behind Closet Case Patterns, to find out more!

Hi Heather! Thanks for coming on board as an Indie Pattern Month sponsor this year. We’re looking forward to hearing more about your designs and your business! First up, tell us all a bit about your designs. How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

​I like designing the sorts of clothes that we wear on a day to day basis, but from a chic, modern point of view. I’m obsessed with the right details, cut and proportion; I like to think of Closet Case patterns as elevated basics.

Heather’s work space

How did your come up with the name for your label?

​When I started writing my blog back in 2011, a friend and I were having a pun-off to find a good name (sewing blogs and puns go hand in hand). I’m not sure now why I settled on Closet Case Files, though I think it was probably the alliterative double meaning. I considered changing it a year or so ago but I’m strangely attached to my weird little name.

We’d love to know the story behind your business. What inspired you to create and sell patterns? How did it all start?

​I released my first pattern as a one-off; I had designed the Bombshell swimsuit​ ​for myself and there was a big demand to make it available to everyone so I did so. It wasn’t until I released the Nettie bodysuit a year later that I realized I could make a proper business from the enterprise.​ I really love the creative and drafting process a pattern has to go through to be ready for sale so I’m really happy I made the decision to do this fulltime.

And looking forwards, where would you like your business to be in five years time?

​Ahhh! This is a hard one. I’m really just in a zen day-to-day flow state with my work right now so a 5 year plan sounds a little scary.​ ​If pressed, ​​I’d love to be releasing 3-4 patterns a year in a printed format, teaching more classes​ and perhaps working on a book, since I have a few ideas for one.

Well, I guess that wasn’t so scary after all 😉

Where do you do all your work? Reckon you can share a photo or two with us, so we can have a sneak peek at your workspace? 😉

​I work from home. I’m lucky to have a fairly large, well lit studio space that is only a few blocks from Montreal’s fabric district!​

Heather’s work space

Heather’s work space

What’s your favourite part of releasing a new design?

​Seeing how people interpret my patterns NEVER gets old. I’m just creating a tool; the exciting thing is seeing what people make with the tool.​ ​The creativity and brilliance of my customers is what gets me up in the morning.​

Thinking of your gorgeous designs, what’s your favourite of all your designs so far, and why?

​The Ginger Jeans pattern has a special place in my heart. I worked my tail off on that one and learned so much about my craft in the process. It’s been immensely gratifying to see so many folks discover the pleasure of jeans making using the Ginger pattern.

Who or what inspires you, either with your designs or with your business? (Or both!)

​Creatively, I’m mostly inspired by street fashion. I love seeing how real women wear clothing; I get a lot more excited walking down the street then I do looking at style.com fashion shows.

Business wise, I am definitely a Sophia Amoruso fan. She’s a brilliant business woman and her book #Girlboss is a great kick in the butt to any lady entrepreneurs out there. I’m also loving seeing Sarai Mitnick grow and evolve the Colette brand. Their new sewing magazine Seamwork is one of those ideas you wish you had first.

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon? Any hints you can give us? (We’re so impatient, haha!)

​I will hopefully have a new pattern ready for late June/early July. It’s my version of a men’s garment that I wear almost every single day in the summer and I’m in the midst of sample making right now.​

Thanks so much for taking the time to talk with us Heather! I’m now extremly curious about your new pattern – can’t wait to see what it will be!

Want to know more about Closet Case Patterns? You can find the patterns here, and Heather’s blog here.

2 thoughts on “Introducing Heather, from Closet Case Patterns

Join the conversation! :)

