Is this too formal for walking the dogs?

So this is my contribution for “New to Me” week.  Sewing an Indie pattern from a designer you have never sew before, is not hard for me as I’ve only sewn from a handful of Indie designers, although I own patterns from several more just waiting to be sewn.  So did I pick one of those patterns to sew? No.  Did I sew my “Secret Santa Swap” pattern? No (technically I couldn’t, as I have bought and sewn the Onyx top from Paprika Patterns since being given the Jade skirt in the swap). No I bought a new pattern after reading Diary of a Chainstitcher, there is a regular update of new Indie pattern releases and news on this blog.  The pattern in questions is the Fatale Sister Skirt by Vanessa Pouzet.

It’s a simple pencil skirt, with an open ended zip at the back.  So you can make the split as high at you dare.

The pattern consists of only two pieces and prints in only 12 pages.  Some patterns on this site are in English, but this one was only available in French (I haven’t studied French in over 30 years).  Fortunately the picture instructions were good and with the dubious help of Google translate I was able to work out what I needed to do.  The skirt is designed to be fully lined and bagged out and I will try this at some point, but as I didn’t have any suitable lining fabric, I just choose to finish the waistband nad hem with bias binding.

The dogs were just disappearing out of sight.

Of course I couldn’t leave it as a simple two piece skirt, I know from past experience that if a skirt doesn’t have pockets I just don’t wear it.  So I doubled the number of pattern pieces by adding pockets.  The fabric if a funishing fabric I picked up at Standfast & Barracks (the Liberty Factory Shop) on our way home from holiday on the Isle of Arran in February.  I only bought 50cm so that is the length of my skirt.  The turquoise open ended zip I picked up at the Yorkshire Spoolettes meet up in Dewsbury, I had dreams of using it in a hoody, but to be honest I probably would never have got my hands on any turquoise sweatshirt fabric.

So it it too formal to walk the dogs?  Bonnie didn’t seem to mind.  Of course I regretted not having lined the skirt, as I had to wear leggings on this lovely sunny June day and it did cling a bit.

I’m going to have to brush up on my French, as I have my eye on the Eagle pattern.

5 thoughts on “Is this too formal for walking the dogs?

  1. I’ve taken to wearing a slip under my skirts, especially if I’m wearing tights or stockings. A bit old fashioned perhaps but it solves most of my static issues!

    Like

  2. Of course it’s not too formal. The denim jacket, t-shirt and leggings give it “just out running around” vibe. It looks really good on you. I’m tempted but 1) don’t know if the pattern sizing runs large enough and 2) I’m not sure I can figure out the instructions.

    Like

    • I cut out size 46 at the waist and graded to 44 at the hips and my measurements are 32″ waist and 40″ hips. The pattern goes up to a French size 48, but I think it would be fairly straight forward to grade up if needed. If you do want any help with the instructions just let me know, Katrina.

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

