Selvage Designs and Deer & Doe | New To Me!

It’s been nearly impossible to keep up with all of the awesomeness on TMS this month! You ladies amaze and inspire me so much 😀

Here’s my first entry of the month! A Deer & Doe Plantain Tee and Selvage Designs Syrah Skirt

THE PLANTAIN TEE

  • This tee is everywhere and I finally understand why! I’ve had the pattern downloaded for a while but haven’t gotten around to making it till now. The RTW white tee I have in my closet right now is looking pretty old and sad so I I desperately needed a replacement :)… this one fit the bill perfectly!
  • The fabric is a cotton spandex blend knit from Girl Charlee. It’s a decent weight so it’s not too see-through; and it’s super soft! I cut a straight 36 and didn’t make any adjustments. I finished the neckline with a long straight stitch and the arm and bottom hemlines with a double needle.
  • I didn’t follow the instructions (yay, I’m finally at a point where I don’t need directions for the simple things… it’s the little things) 🙂 but they seem very well written, especially for a free pattern! I’m dying to try the Bruyere Shirt and Belladone Dress at some point 🙂

THE SYRAH SKIRT

  • So here’s the deal. I bought this fabric with a very different project in mind that slipped my mind shortly after buying it :/ (this is why I need to write things down…) So anyway, then I thought it would make a beautiful maxi skirt, so I pulled out my Syrah pattern that I’ve had sitting around since purchasing the Perfect Pattern Parcel last October. I cut the pattern and laid everything out thinking I had purchased enough fabric. Needless to say, I didn’t. Easy fix of course… I just cut the shorter version instead. But then I also cut the waistband thinking I had cut the ruched version when in fact I had not. Not sure where my head was while making this one :/ but in the end, I’m glad I messed up on both because I love it as is! Who was I kidding… I don’t need a maxi skirt in this heat!
  • The fabric is a heather cotton rib knit (also from Girl Charlee… same as these). I lined the waistband with some lightweight jersey I had sitting around but opted not to line the main skirt (again… the heat!). I added 3 inches to the length and angled the pattern slightly on the fold to get a little more bulk (very little). I finished the bottom hem with a double needle. Only problem was my machine really tried to devour this fabric – next time I use fabric like this I definitely need something to stabilize the hem.
  • The pattern itself is amazing. Lauren’s instructions are some of the clearest I’ve seen, and I love the tiled pdf so you only have to print what size(s) you need. Since finishing the skirt, I’ve already purchased her Foxglove Tank pattern and have one in progress 🙂

So yay! There they are! I had fun with both of these patterns. They are simple, but both fit perfectly and they are great additions to my summer wardrobe! 🙂

I haven’t posted anything on my blog about these ones yet, but feel free to stop by and see what else I’ve been up to, including my separates that I didn’t post last week but should have 🙂 For the AVON39 walk in Chicago two weekends ago, I made outfits for my mom and I… Matilda Leggings from Spit Up and Stilettos, a Pneuma Tank from Papercut Patterns, and a Fun Summer Tee from iCandy Handmade. Indie Patterns for the win! 🙂

Until next time,

3 thoughts on “Selvage Designs and Deer & Doe | New To Me!

  1. Pingback: Syrah Skirt, Plantain Tee, Plantain Tank, So Zo Undies, & Puppy PJ Pants! | Life by Ky

  2. What a lovely outfit, your skirt Is a lovely colour. Simple separates like this are so good for the summer! Isn’t the Plantain such a great, and addictive pattern?! I’ve made 3 so far – 1 tee & 2 dresses. Off to check out your blog now.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

