Cherry Cascade Skirt

Hi y’all!

I’ve been working away on some summer projects, and finally got around to cutting into this awesome fabric last weekend!  It’s a rayon challis, from the Gertie collection at JoAnn’s.  When I first saw the fabrics I thought they’d be too cutesy for any style I’d be interested in sewing, but then I laid eyes on this fabulous cherry print on a blue background.  Just screams summer, doesn’t it?

I knew this drapey fabric would be perfect for the Cascade skirt pattern by Megan Nielsen.  I’ve admired her patterns for a long time, but this is my first go.  I must say I’m a fan – this pattern was so easy to put together, and the instructions were very simple.  It’s a wrap skirt, so the fit is very forgiving, and there are only 3 pattern pieces.  I own a few of her other patterns as well, and I’m excited to try them soon!  I’ve been daydreaming about some chiffon Tania culottes for a few days now.

Even if you haven’t made this skirt yourself, you can tell that it’s a fabric hog.  I started out with 3 yards of my fabric, which quickly turned into 2.5 yards after washing and trimming the off-grain ends.  YIKES!  I fit the main skirt pieces easily on my fabric, but had to piece together the waistband.  Luckily, the ties are super long and the print is busy enough that you really can’t tell.

The instructions suggest French seams to keep the insides neat, since you do see it from the front.  There are only two seams, really, so this was no big deal.  But that hem!  Wowzers!  Man oh man it feels like it goes on for miles, especially when you are doing a narrow hem without a narrow hem foot.  I felt very accomplished at the end, though.  That awesome “cascade” drape makes everything worth it!

Thanks for taking a look!  More details over on my blog!

2 thoughts on “Cherry Cascade Skirt

Join the conversation! :)

