Lindy Petal Skirt

Itch to Stitch is an independent pattern company I had never heard of before, until the Lindy petal skirt started popping up in peoples blogs, over the last couple of weeks.

Pencil skirts are my ‘go to’ skirt shape and I have been wanting to make a faux wrap, petal type skirt for a while.  After pinning a couple of patterns I jumped on this one because it is FREE!

petal skirt and waver jacket

Also I used a fabric that I had never used before, leatherette.

I had intended on using the leatherette for the whole skirt, but I’m glad I didn’t because the contrast of the leatherette beside the ponte I used for the rest of the skirt, looks really nice and shows the petal detail.  Also the leatherette is sticky and difficult to sew. Both fabrics I got from Spotlight.

petal skirt and waver jacket

The PDF has layers, so you only print what you need.  There are great instructions on how to pick your size, how much ease and measurements for your body and the finished garment. I wish more patterns had all this info.  I printed L and XL and blended between the 2 sizes (XL waist to L hips). Before I finished the hem and waist-band I also ended shaving about and inch of each side to give it a firmer fit.

I lined the front panel so that i didn’t have to hem the leatherette, i just had a gut feeling it wouldn’t look good, I’m glad I did as sewing the leatherette was tricky.  To do this I removed about 3 cm from the hem of my lining (There is a 2cm hem allowance on the pattern).

Inside

Front

I used my double needle to hem the ponte.  I used some 15cm wide elastic, folded in half to finish the waist band.

I’m very happy with how the skirt turned out, I’ll be wearing it with tights and boots to work this winter.  It’s a quick, simple sew and I’ll be sewing it again and I have my eye on the Marbella dress from Itch to stitch.

And the leatherette, even though it seemed impossible to stitch due to sticking to the presser-foot and feed-dogs, I’m going to try again by sandwiching it between tissue.  I really like the way it looks and will use it for contrast sleeves and pockets.

thanks for reading 🙂

petal skirt and waver jacket

2 thoughts on “Lindy Petal Skirt

  1. I’m so glad to see the Lindy in mixed fabrics. Ive been wondering how it would look with different color petals but couldn’t get clownish images out of my mind. The contrast of the leather and Ponte is just so interesting. You have a wonderful skirt here.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

