Merino Jenna

During Me-Made-May this year, I decided I needed more me-made cardigans and jumpers, to wear with my dresses. Muse patterns were conveniently on sale, so Jenna made its way into my pattern stash, and now into my wardrobe. I’ve admired this pattern since it came out, but I’ve never actually made a Muse pattern (despite loving them all), so it was a fun new adventure here.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The Details

The pattern: Muse Jenna cardigan

The fabric: Merino sweater knit from The Fabric Store, Dunedin. Notions are buttons from Spotlight, and a scrap of elastic from my stash to stabilise the shoulders.

Alterations: Shortened the sleeves by over an inch (I’m 5’9″ and like my sleeves to go past my wrist, so shorter people might want to keep that in mind). Otherwise, made a straight view A with long sleeves.

And some thoughts:

This is my favourite to use of the pdf patterns I’ve seen (the others being Colette and Sewaholic) – the lines are narrower, which is good for matching up neatly, and I loved that there was a table with which pages to print for which views (noting that I was really happy about this, and then proceeded to completely fail to use it – I accidentally printed the whole thing). I’ll definitely use it again, with a couple modifications – I want to turn it into a v-neck, like someone did earlier this week, and probably do the longer variation with just a hem instead of the band, to make it a more casual cardigan, like my usual wear.SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

My buttons are silverish ones from Spotlight. I wanted something a little bit special, but not too flashy, and I think I’ve succeeded in that. I also topstiched in navy thread, which I definitely like, since it adds a little definition around the seams.

A couple of detail shots:

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
This is definitely a wearable cardigan, a standard, if not anything exciting. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about it, but I think that’s just me being shy about wearing things that are unusual – fitted, cropped sweaters and cardigans are pretty common among people who sew, but pretty uncommon in the general population where I am.

On the other hand, it goes with almost everything I own. I was going to take photos of a few options, but half of them were packed already for a holiday: have just one instead.

That’s all guys, although there’s more on my blog if you’re interested.

Good luck all entering the New to Me competition!

6 thoughts on “Merino Jenna

Join the conversation! :)

