Itch to Stitch Marbella dress

Screaming Summer – Itch to Stitch Marbella Dress

This is my 11th hour entry for the new to me challenge!

Somehow this dress makes me feel as if it really wants to be pictured by a pool, while I am holding a fruity cocktail and the sky is as blue as the flowers on the fabric. What you actually get is my back garden (again), but I have made a bit of effort on the ‘styling’ and added – sunglasses!Itch to Stitch MarbellaI don’t think the pictures really capture the intense shades of the colours on this print, the blues are incredibly bright against the white background. There is nothing subtle about this print – and to me it just screams summer?This is the Marbella dress from Itch to Stitch Designs. I received this pattern from Pearl Red Moon in the Monthly Stitch PDF pattern swap. I love that this pattern has been made by people of all shapes and sizes and it seems to have worked well for everyone.

As the pattern was new to me I made a complete muslin first and I was cautious about sizing. My measurements were all over the sizing chart – my bust is a size 6, my waist between 8 and 10 and my hips between 12 and 14. I initially cut an 8 through the shoulder and bust grading out to a 10 at the waist and out to a 14 at the hip. The first muslin ended up only slightly too loose at the front but there was a quite a lot of excess fabric at the waist at the back.I recut the front pieces a size smaller. For the back pieces I needed more of a dart shape at the lower back so I took a wedge from the centre back princess seam (folding back about an inch) and a smaller fold from the side back piece. I reduced the size of the back skirt pieces at the waist and increased the dart intake to match the princess seam changes on the bodice piece. I also had to add a bit more width to the back pieces at the hip (so the pattern pieces now look weirdly curved – because my curves are weird!). Finally I lengthened the skirt by two inches.Itch to Stitch MarbellaThe fabric is a stretch cotton print from Minerva Crafts – using the IPM discount code! It is available in red and orange as well as the blue and purple. It is quite a thick cotton with 3% spandex. Because of the thickness of the cotton I decided to skip the pockets and I lined the bodice with a lightweight white cotton with a tiny amount of stretch rather than self lining. I didn’t attempt any pattern matching as there are so many pieces across the bodice that I didn’t have the energy

The instructions are incredibly detailed – there are over 60 steps in total with lots of diagrams and really helpful instructions for under-stitching all the seams – including the zip – which was really useful. My fabric really needed the under-stitching to hold all the lining seams in place neatly as it is quite thick. The pattern drafting is excellent – all the yoke pieces fit together neatly and all the darts and seams lined up perfectly (even after my random fit adjustments). I love the way the bodice lining is finished at the zip without any hand sewing and the insides turned out pretty neat!Overall though I really like the fit and I am so pleased with how this turned out, it looks quite closely fitted at the back but isn’t tight anywhere.I feel as if this swap has given me a real challenge and pushed me out of my comfort zone – thanks to Pearl for choosing this pattern for me. I hope everyone else enjoyed the swap and the new-to-me challenge just as much!

Find out more about what I have made for IPM 2015 at notsewsimple.

 

14 thoughts on “Screaming Summer – Itch to Stitch Marbella Dress

  1. Pingback: Just a bit of Betty – Sewoverit Betty Dress | not sew simple

    • Thankyou! I am.pleased with how it finally turned out – when I saw it previously I thought it looked a bit complicated so it has been a really good ‘new to me’ challenge challenge!

      Like

  2. Hi Louise, wowwee, dress looks great and you made it beautifully, lining and all. Kennis’ instructions are awesomely detailed. And thanks so much for your very gracious thanks and acknowledgment of me as your swap partner 🙂 its always a pleasure to give a gift that is so well received

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

