New company, new style, new me!

Okay, okay, same old me, but the pattern was definitely new to me! I’d planned to make a Gabriola maxi for New to Me week, but last Monday, I was invited to test a pattern for new-to-me company KZJO Studio. She’s getting ready to release 3 great new patterns, all of which I’d have loved to try, but given time and fabric requirements, I chose the Charlotte Tunic.

Per KZ’s instructions, I cut and sewed it (almost) exactly as directed, in a size 16. I realized after making this that it’s intended to be worn with pants or leggings, but…what can I say, I like to live on the edge. (I will definitely add a few inches to be able to wear this as a “proper” dress in the future.) I picked up this slinky mystery (poly?) fabric at the Vogue Fabrics Warehouse sale about 2 months ago and wanted a pattern that really showed off the pretty butterfly print.

This is a pretty simple dress, but with an interesting design feature in the back. Instead of the recommended bias binding, I used some lace I had on hand, and I think it looks really nice, if I do say so myself.

I initially had some underarm gaping, which is really common for me (I should probably start doing FBAs, but since I was instructed to sew this as-is, I did). I sewed in a couple of darts at the end and I think the fit is pretty nice! It’s maybe a little tight in the bust, but that’s my own fault, not the pattern’s. For one, I used French seams because the fabric is so prone to fraying, and it’s hard to French seam (for me, at least) with 1/2″ seam allowance. For two, I fell between size 16 and 18, and I probably should’ve gone with the bigger size to start.

All in all, I really like this, and I’m excited to see what KZ comes up with next. It’s not my usual style, but it’s great for summer. I thought I’d want to belt this, but that actually looked pretty silly, so I think I’ll just keep it simple. I might try to find a long necklace with an interesting pendant if I want to dress it up a bit, and throwing a long cardigan over the top helps keep this a little more modest, but it’s great as-is, too!

The instructions were good, and the instruction diagrams were great! I think this would be good for a confident beginner. I think my submission for One Pattern Two Takes will be a maxi dress version, considering it’s already cut out and ready to go! So what do you think? Have you heard of KZJO Studios before? Would you try out one of her patterns (due for release on Tuesday!)?

Thanks for reading! You can find more details, and more DIY, over on my blog, forwhoitsfor.blogspot.com

One thought on “New company, new style, new me!

Join the conversation! :)

