Peony Take Two

I’m rounding out Indie Pattern Month with my entry for the final contest of the month: One Pattern Two Takes, using the Peony by Colette Patterns. This week’s challenge is a special challenge open only to prior contributors to the Monthly Stitch. Since starting my own blog as a sort of New Year’s resolution, I’ve been posting fairly regularly over at the Monthly Stitch, including the Put a Bird On It challenge and the Menswear challenge, most recently. I’m thankful to the community the Monthly Stitch has helped to create and as an open-forum space for fellow seamstresses to share their creative projects 🙂

So, I made Version A of the Peony, which features pockets and 3/4 sleeves. I really wanted to highlight the versatility of the pattern by choosing a solid fabric rather than a print and by dressing up the look. I’m really pleased with how the dress turned out. I don’t normally make a pattern twice, so I welcomed this challenge as an opportunity to improve upon some mistakes from the first version. I’m much more satisfied with the fit of the second version.

There’s no gaping in the bodice or excess fabric in the waist. Also, I conquered my fear of pockets!

This time I finished the neckline with the facing pieces rather than using self-made bias tape. I found that I got a much smoother finish this way. I also finished the hem by creating a narrow rolled hem on my serger. This produced a neater finish than if I had stitched the hem, which would not have been agreeable with this fabric.

narrow rolled hem applied with my serger

I also made my own threaded belt loops following Colette’s tutorial here. The pattern itself comes with belt pieces, but I had my own belt I wanted to pair with this dress so I made belt loops instead. I also used a 22 inch invisible zipper, as before.

As I was putting on the finishing touches I feared I had inadvertently entered bridesmaid territory, which was not my intention. I gravitate toward prints and don’t make much in solids. I feared the dress would be too prim and proper. However, with the right accessories this dress can be vamped up. Dare I say I like this version more than my first version?

For this and other projects please visit my blog at See Carmen Sew

8 thoughts on “Peony Take Two

  1. Pretty! My first thought upon seeing the solid was that it is a great dress for work and cocktails, so definitely not bridesmaid territory! 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

