Introducing Elisa, from Salme Patterns

Salme Sewing Patterns have been a long time supporter of The Monthly Stitch and Indie Pattern Month so we were delighted when Elisa agreed to join us again this year.

I chatted to her to learn more about her pattern range and her move to paper patterns.

Hi Elisa! First up, tell us all a bit about your designs.  How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

First of all, I like to keep the styles simple and skip any complicated construction details whenever possible. This way my customers can put their own touch to them. I like clean lines and modern silhouettes. I guess you could say my aesthetic is Scandinavian minimalism, although it’s not a conscious decision by me but rather others telling me so!

How did your come up with the name for your label?

That’s easy, it’s the name of my grandmother. She has an awesome sewing room and I used to think she can make anything in there. She is my idol when it comes to patience, perseverance and attention to detail.

We love that you’ve branched out into paper patterns, how do you decide which patterns to offer as paper?

People have been asking for paper patterns for a long time, so I simply went for the most popular ones. In the future I hope to have all my new patterns published as paper patterns. This will also allow me to do patterns that require more paper, such as coats and fully lined dresses. I’ve steered clear of them simply because of the amount of cutting and taping involved with pdf patterns.

Which pattern is the most popular in your store?

I actually have’t checked the stats lately but I’m pretty sure the kimono top is keeping its number one place. It’s being used a lot at sewing lessons because it’s great for beginners.

And what is your favourite of everything in your store?

It’s always my next pattern! 🙂 An old favourite is the playsuit, I plan on making yet another one for the summer. I can’t get enough of playsuits. (Coming out as a paper pattern later this summer!)

Pretend we’re sending you on a deserted island sewing holiday. We’ll give you a machine and some fabric but which 5 patterns from your store would you bring with you?

That sounds like an awesome holiday!

I would be strategic and pick a range that I could alter to make pretty much anything from.

  • One fitted dress: Sandra Dress 145. It’s such a versatile pattern. I could alter the neckline and possibly do a sleeveless version, too. The bottom part could be used for skirts.
  • One loose fitting dress: Raglan Sleeve Shirt Dress 168. I love the ease of raglan sleeves and again, the pattern could be altered. Skip the collar and cut sleeves to t-shirt length maybe?
  • One stretch dress: V-neck Cap Sleeve Dress 151. A great basic.
  • One top: Dip Hem T-shirt 166. I just love rounded hems right now.
  • And finally the playsuit of course, which could also be used for making shorts. Did I mention how much I love playsuits? 😉

Are there any great versions of your patterns that you’ve seen online and woudl like to share with us? Do you have a favourite that you’ve seen someone make up?

This is one of my all-time favourites. I’m in awe that someone would use my pattern to create these. They’re cute as candy! I never stop being amazed by what people make with my patterns and am so happy when people send me photos or links.

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon? Any hints you can give us?

Yes! I can’t give you release dates yet but some new patterns will be out this summer. I’m working on several ones that I’m really excited about. There will be some pockets and there will be some asymmetric lines, that’s all I’m telling you! 🙂

Oh Elisa, you’re such a tease, you know we all love pockets! I can’t wait to see your new designs and thank you so much for sharing that fabulous wedding dress and more about your patterns.

3 thoughts on “Introducing Elisa, from Salme Patterns

Join the conversation! :)

