Named Kielo 1 and 2!

Hi again!

Wow, we’re on the last week of Indie pattern month! It’s really gone so quick and it’s been so much fun!

And before I show you my second Kielo, I am just so thrilled to have won with the first one !!! thank you all so much!!

So here’s take 2!

DSCN0236

As soon as I finished the first one I started dreaming for other versions, and the one I could not get out of my head was the open back, which through the non-stop thinking about combinations etc also transformed into a colour blocked one.  The fabric is cotton jersey, the grey marl I bought in Athens in May and the black one I bought here, especially for this project and I am so happy with the quality and service (and price!).

DSCN0228

For this version, I cut the back piece on the fold but cut a wedge out from the nape to the waist to create the back opening. I left the back slit out but opened one on the side seam, to make walking easier. If I can’t walk easy in a garment, I am not going to wear it, so not an option there! Unfortunately the back is gaping a little, because of my flat back not that I overstretched the fabric ( well..) which I should have adjusted but my first version is fine so when cutting my second one I did not think of it. It’s a loose back and I like  it for a summer day/night but it does need a special bra, if I don’t want it to show.  I also sewed the side seams one inch higher than the mark, because without the full back the whole dress was pulling forward more than it should. Now it stays where it should and everybody is sufficiently covered!

DSCN0235

I stitched everything with a narrow zigzag on my sewing machine, and finished the necklines, armholes hems and all with a twin needle. Now, twin needles have a personality of their own if you know what I mean, and that was a bit of a process but with patience and good steaming, all the seams and stitches are set fine 🙂

DSCN0233

I am super happy with both my Kielo’s and I promise you they won’t be the last ones!

Thank you everyone for reading, and for The Monthly stitch girls for organising such a great month for all of us!

For more from me have a look here

Manouela

DSCN0234

12 thoughts on “Named Kielo 1 and 2!

  1. Pingback: The winners of the One Pattern, Two Takes contest | The Monthly Stitch

Join the conversation! :)

