Papercut Patterns Yoyo Dress & Skirt one pattern two takes

How in the world did we get to the end of the month? I missed two of the challenges but I really wanted to try and submit something for this one, since I think I am eligible. So for my one pattern two takes, I have used the great design of  the Yoyo Dress from Papercut patterns

For version number one, I sewed the dress option in a stretch cotton, with a bold pattern from Mood Fabrics 

Yoyo Dress Papercut Patterns

One of the features that I liked the most in this pattern is the front zipper and the cut-out at the bottom of the skirt. I cut the XS size all the way. I took the bodice in by 2cm on the side seams and on the shoulder seams, but made no other alterations. There are also two pleats on the front skirt.

Papercut Pattern Yoyo Dress

The back bodice has an interesting v-neck and two darts. I fiddled a bit with the dress in order to match them with those of the skirt but we got there in the end. The inside is finished by a facing on the front and back of the bodice as well as around the zipper and the hem.

Papercut Patterns Yoyo Dresss

For my second version, I chose the skirt option in a pink very subtle plaid suiting fabric, bought locally this time. The details are more visible on this fabric that isn’t as busy as the one of the dress. I cut the same size again but I could have gone to S perhaps, although it’s not tight or anything.

Papercut patterns Yoyo skirt

I used the bodice of the dress to create a crop jacket with flounce sleeves.  I haven’t attempted anything like that before and although it’s not perfect, I think it turned out really well and compliments the skirt.

I kept the design of the original bodice at the back but omitted the diarists I didn’t want it to be fitted and added about 5cm of extra fabric in order to make it more interesting

Yoyo Skirt papercut Patterns

The inside of the skirt is finished in the same way as the dress and the jacket is fully lined with a flowery viscose that I bought for another project.


Personally I love both versions and I’m sure to wear them both. If you like the style I obviously recommend the pattern. Perhaps not for an absolute beginner but definitely for someone who wants a bit of a challenge. The instructions are very clear, the only point I was confused was on the insertion of the facings for the bodice, but I worked it out in the end. If you can buy the paper pattern, there’s always the beautiful packaging that comes with it. I love the fact that the instructions can be turned into a beautiful booklet. You can always visit me Delightfully Peculiar

Big thank you for organising the IPM again, it’s such great fun seeing what everyone makes and learning more about the indie designers.

11 thoughts on “Papercut Patterns Yoyo Dress & Skirt one pattern two takes

  1. Great job! I love this pattern. My only concern is the front zipper: does it behave well when sitting down? In my experience, long front zippers tend to bulge and create funny looking curves in the wrong places. How did that turn out for you?

    Like

    • I’m not going to lie to you, the front zipper does exactly that, but I don’t find it annoying, all clothes tend to bulge when you sit down and the particular one, would do it with or without the zipper as it has the pleats at the front that give it a tulip style shape. It’s a very interesting piece to have in your wardrobe but on the other hand it depends how annoying you would find it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The winners of the One Pattern, Two Takes contest | The Monthly Stitch

Join the conversation! :)

