Summer plaid shirt

Check out my summer plaid shirt

I just love this month’s theme because I actually have a plaid obsession and have been sewing with it a lot this year.  I think I am finally getting the hang of matching it at the seams as well, which is one of the big challenges.

Anyways this month I realized I needed to get started on a summer wardrobe so I whipped up this shirt using the New Look Pattern # 6104, view D.  Instead of collars and sleeves, it has neck binding and armhole bindings, perfect for any summer BBQ.

What I think makes the shirt so stylish is the three tucks that are sewn on either side of the front. It took some time to master these, but the trick seems to be to mark the lines clearly on the fabric and then remember to pinch the material up on the right side.  The photo on the right shows my pintucking in action!

The shirts is not complicated at all and came together fairly quickly.  And as you can see works pretty well for 4th of July chilling.  For the full story of this shirt and other plaids, check out my blog!  Hope everyone is having a great summer (or winter, wherever you are!)

6 thoughts on “Check out my summer plaid shirt

    • Awww thanks! I have recently realized my projects may be a bit plaid heavy. But I love it. Pin tucks are really a lot easier than they look. The trickiest part is making sure the spacing is even when you have more than one. This material just screamed sleeveless shirt to me – reminds me of camp for some reason…

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

