Fog proofed

Herringbone coating is the basis of this coat.

We had a bit of cold weather and fog so this year I was pretty ready for it, using Butterick 6062 as my coat pattern basis.

b6062-coat-front

There’s nothing flash about this coat except is warm and cosy. I’ve kept the grayness of the herringbone fabric with the crepe lining and satin bias binding.

b6062-coat-front-collar

The lining is from the Fabric Cave. The herringbone coating is from Addicted 2 Fabric and the sleeve wool fabric is a Pitt trading designer remnant bought a few years ago. That double zipper is also bought from Pitt Trading too.

b6062-coat-back-collar

I didn’t have enough herringbone coating so I used the sleeve fabric for the under collar.

b6062-coat-back-fog

I added the collar myself. Did I do a test coat? Well yes I did… in a stable knit, to get the length dimensions right.

So I’ve skipped the jacket darts but did my usual roll shoulder adjustment and sway back adjustment.

b6062-coat-hands-fog

So I’m officially a Winter-whoos. Hence the gloves and I’ve worn my warmest jumper that I only use when it’s cold or foggy, as these photos suggest. Here’s my blog post.

Stay warm everyone.

Join the conversation! :)

