Simplicity 1606 circle skirt

A Winter Circle Skirt

Hi everyone! My name is Emily and I blog at www.maiattique.com.au. I am so excited to be able to join The Monthly Stitch sewing community. This is the first time I ever post on TMS and I hope there will be a lot more in the future!

Simplicity 1606 circle skirt

Simplicity 1606 circle skirt

This is also my first ever circle skirt which was sewed using Simplicity 1606 dress pattern. I used the bottom pattern pieces because from the pattern image, the skirt looks amazing. It’s not too full (more like a half circle skirt) which can easily look overwhelm for my frame, plus it really has vintage vibe to it. I cut the skirt in size 10 and drafted a classic waistband and two side seam pockets, although they end up a little small and I would rather draft bigger size pockets next time.

Wool blend Simplicity 1606 circle skirt

This is a vintage wool blend fabric which I bought couple of months ago. The pattern design is as close to this month’s checkers challenge as I could get to. I really like this check pattern because it makes the skirt looks a little more interesting than just plain black colour. From the outside, this skirt is very basic, but hardly simple. I applied lots of couture techniques learnt from Susan Khalje’s Craftsy class: The Couture Dress. To name a few, the skirt was underlined with silk organza, the invisible zipper was hand sewn using prick stitch and there is a nice black lace trim at the skirt hem to hide the contrast overlocked seam. This skirt falls below the knee for me but you can certainly shorten it for a more youthful look.

For those of you who is wondering why I wear turtle neck at this time of the year :-), I live in the Southern Hemisphere and it’s actually Winter now in Australia. I was lucky to be able to snap these pictures before the Antarctic Vortex blasted our shore these past days bringing icy cold, heavy rain and snow…

Thanks so much for checking out my post! More detailed review of this Simplicity pattern and photos are on my blog.

 

13 thoughts on “A Winter Circle Skirt

  1. This skirt hangs beautifully, and I think it’s because of the way you manipulated the organza. I popped over to your blog for a closer look, and I’m really impressed by what you did! The hand work to catch the organza is superbly done. Now I want to make a skirt like this. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting my blog. Since learning the underlining technique from Susan Khalje, I have applied it to quite a few projects already and I love it. I agree the silk organza really contributes to the nice drape of skirts/dresses and this one is an example. Thanks for your lovely comment 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks so much! I love that this skirt has a vintage vibe to it and it was made of vintage fabric, too! Yes it has been freeeeezing these past couple of days, hopefully will be better by the weekend. I’m looking forward to seeing your new shirt. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

