Woolen Waver Jacket

Hello, today I’m sharing my Waver Jacket by Papercut Patterns for Check it Out month.

I used 100% wool coating from The Fabric Store Auckland, which they happily mail-ordered to me.  It was part of their wool sale and I got this beautiful fabric for $12 a meter!  The patterns calls for 2.5 meters, but I managed to eke it out of 2.

Waver Jacket

Waver Jacket

I did my best to pattern match, buy cutting one layer at a time.  I didn’t have enough fabric to cut the front with the facing attached, as in the pattern, but was able to make do by cutting it separately.

20150620_163030

The most important part was to match the stripes across the front and I’m really proud of how well it came out!

Waver Jacket

Waver Jacket

I also made a recycled wool blanket coat for my daughter.  Her coat I paid no attention to pattern matching and I learnt my lesson, because the unmatched stripes bug me!  She doesn’t care, she loves her coat!.

recycled woolen blanket jacket

recycled woolen blanket jacket

I lined my coat with some graphic poplin from spotlight.

I made a couple of modifications.  I slimmed down the coat by blending between sizes, from an L at the bust to an S at the hips.  I based this modification on the fit of my short jacket that I made a straight L.  I knew that I didn’t want the long coat too big.  I added welt pockets to the front (instead of patch) and a secret pocket in the lining.

Waver jacket

Waver Jacket

I was experimenting with i movie and made this tutorial if your interested.

I top-stitched everything!  At least way more that the pattern called for.  It made the wool look nice and crisp and showed off the detail of the facings (which I like).

And last but not least, I added 2 vintage buttons.

Waver Jacket

Waver Jacket

19 thoughts on “Woolen Waver Jacket

  1. Congratulations on such a beautiful jacket. The details are beautiful, especially the topstitching. I loved your daughters jacket too, what a great idea! I have seen old blankets embroidered and made into cushions, but I’ve never seen them made into clothes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done! I love your fabric combination and the secret cell-phone pocket. Plus, you made a cute little coat for your daughter. She looks thrilled! Great little movie too 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

