It’s hip to be square

First up – apologies to those that now have an 80s Huey Lewis and the News song stuck in their head (does anyone else suffer from ear worms as much as me?!).

For the monthly stitch Check it out challenge, I finished something early in the month but it took me a while to get some photos.

IMG_0042

The pattern is out of print simplicity 7086 with a copyright of 2002.  I picked it up at an op shop and I’ve basically made the main picture view, but in a different colour. I had this fabric earmarked for this pattern for a while and was originally going to make the short sleeved version, but I really need a few longer sleeved shirts in my work wardrobe and I had enough of the fabric for it.

My fabric is a gingham plisse, which I thought was labelled 100% cotton but it gives off that distinctive ‘poly’ aroma when pressed so I guess it is not.  I looked up what plisse is.  It is similar to seersucker but while seersucker texture is derived from the weave apparently a plisse is achieved with a chemical treatment.  I noticed with this fabric that the texture will press out but returns after laundering.

This shirt checks all the boxes (square puns!) for a work shirt and is a pretty straight forward sew – unnotched collar, no bust darts, simple cuff facing. The front darts were a new type for me – open darts where the two raw edges are sewn together and then finished.  I didn’t make any adjustments on this version but I could play with the back darts and adjust for swayback to get a better fit there.

IMG_0037

I took these photos near a sculpture that I pass everyday on the way to work – 3D checks!  It was the coldest week we’ve had so far this winter and I had been wearing it with a McCalls 6844 cardigan:

IMG_0032

I have been getting a lot of wear out of the cardigan.  Gingham is hard to photograph from a distance, here is closer shot:

IMG_0047

I fully intended to sew another project for this month’s check challenge but I got completely sidetracked sewing a dress to wear to a wedding at the start of next month – hopefully that will be my next post!

Project summary

patterns:  simplicity 7086 (OOP)

fabric:  mini gingham plisse (spotlight)

notions: rasant thread, interfacing, buttons

 

To sum up with a bit more nostalgia – does anyone else remember the ‘Gingham girls’?  This was one of my all time favourite colouring and sticker book as a girl. Link to printable paper dolls for anyone with little ones (or if you just want to do them yourself!)

(This post is a direct copy of the one on my blog!)

2 thoughts on “It’s hip to be square

Join the conversation! :)

