Checks, please!!

Hi, Monthly Stitchers!!

My name is Linda, and I blog at Ellegeemakes.com. This is my first post on the Monthly Stitch, and I’m so excited to be participating in this month’s challenge. The Monthly Stitch has been a constant source of inspiration for me for quite some time, so it’s a privilege to be able to join in the fun. Since my unwieldy fabric stash actually included not one, but two (!!) versions of gingham, it seemed as though the Check it out! challenge was especially made for me. Yes, I’m a bit late on this challenge, but I ran into a bit of a technical snafu – my apologies.

IMG_1691

The pattern I modified for this gingham tunic/shirt is McCalls’ 6125, a princess seamed shirt pattern that I’ve used more than a time or two. I love princess seams. They’re flattering and, they make me look taller (…ummm, right?).

I made View C as drafted with only one exception. I added a sewn-in tie at the waist. Since my shirt is tunic length, adding a built-in tie seemed like a fun way to make this shirt stand out from the crowd of shirts that lives in my closet. Also, rather than have everything line up, I cut the side panels and the front placket on the bias to make them stand out.

The ties were simple – just two (2) eight inch wide rectangles, each sixteen inches long, inserted into the side seams. The tie as I drafted it, is fairly wide. This makes it easy to cinch at the waist, or you can drop the knot a bit for a looser look. I love having the tie built into the shirt. That way, you can’t lose it!

On a recent one hundred degree day in my home town of Portland, this shirt was comfortable to wear. For me, this is a very good sign. Perhaps, this gingham top will become one of my ‘regulars’. After all, when we wear gingham, we’re in good company. Even Elizabeth Taylor wore gingham!

9d352741354814c47f66e154467ee0d8

Thanks for taking a look and for letting me join in the fun here at the Monthly Stitch! For more photos and my other makes (yes, there’s another gingham shirt in the mix) visit Ellegeemakes. Happy sewing!

14 thoughts on “Checks, please!!

Join the conversation! :)

