Feature Image

Woven Track Pants – two of course

Hello, I’m Friederike. I usually blog in “Sewing is Therapy” and this is my first post here on the Monthly Stitch. I’ll dive right into this month’s challenge “Two is the Magic Number” but first let me say: Happy Birthday! 😀

Taking part in Me Made May revealed, as expected, some wardrobe holes. The first one where nice woven shirts but this hole is already filled with a lot of Emmeline Tees. So I had time to fill another one: pants! These are for sure simple kind of pants but they are comfy and made with woven fabric, so nevertheless office appropriate. If you happen to follow me on Instagram you may have seen my first pair already.

IMG_1891

Worn here with one of my Emmeline Tees.

At first I thought of making the Alexandria Peg Trousers by named. But the finished thigh measurement seemed to be a bit tight and I didn’t want to take the risk of ill fitting pants. Instead I decided to make the Hudson Pants by True Bias. I’ve seen a lot of woven Hudson Pants on the internet and I had the pattern in my stash (see my first knit fabric version here – sorry, only in German). So that’s what I call a win win situation! 😉

IMG_1894

Since the pattern is originally made for knit fabric you have to make some alterations. But there’s a great tutorial for that over on the True Bias blog. I traced out the pattern 2 sizes bigger than my measurements and hoped it would fit around my thighs. I lengthend the legs for about 5 cm (2″) which is what I did on my first knit version too. I’m 175cm (5’9″) tall and the pattern is made for someone who’s something about 5’6″ tall. I didn’t do any other alterations except the ones in the tutorial.

IMG_3651

And a bit dressed up with my Victoria Blazer.

Both fabrics are from Stoff & Stil and both are 100% viscose. The fabric is drapey and fluid and feels great against the skin, even on hot summer days. Well, at least when it’s under 35°C but if it’s warmer I’m out of order anyway, so that’s that!

IMG_3653

IMG_1892

As you can see there’s definitely enough width at the tights, maybe even a bit too much, but I’m fine with it. The pockets are gaping a little bit. I had that problem with my knit version too and I couldn’t eliminate it. I tried to fix it for my second version but may have made it even worse, to be honest. If you have any advice on how to fix that, please tell me. 🙂 Anyway, I’m really pleased with them and they get worn a lot at the moment.

IMG_3654

That’s it so far. I have another project planed for this month’s challenge but we will see if I’m fast enough in sewing to get ready during August. 😉 Bye bye.

6 thoughts on “Woven Track Pants – two of course

Join the conversation! :)

