A Matching Crop Top!

In honor of the Monthly Stith’s second birthday for the “2” challenge I have a matching crop top and midi skirt to share with you!

This crop top is a Cynthia Rowley design from Simplicity 1371. The skirt is McCalls 6706, which I previously blogged about here. Originally, I set out to make the crop top and matching pants from 1371. However, after I made a muslin of the pants I knew it wasn’t going to turn out, at least not without a lot of headache. Then I remembered that I had been wanting to make a matching crop top to go with this skirt I made back in March. So, I didn’t technically sew both garments this month, but I sewed the top to be part of a set. So I think it counts, right? 🙂

I lined the top with a leftover cotton brocade from my last project.

This little top that only uses 3/4 of a yard of fabric really takes hours to make. It cannot be rushed and the instructions might stump you a few times. For more on this project and others, please visit my blog at See Carmen Sew. I didn’t post any tutorials but if you’re working on this top and you get stuck, message me and I’ll try to help you. Chances are I got stuck on that same step, too.

Happy Birthday Monthly Stitch!

14 thoughts on “A Matching Crop Top!

Join the conversation! :)

