a fabric merger

Happy 2nd birthday, TMS! I’m happy that I was able to make something to fit this month’s theme, since I’m still trying to get the hang of fitting sewing back into my life with an almost 2-month-old baby. I’m also still trying to get the hang of my wardrobe, since most of my clothes still don’t fit. I’ve especially been hurting for bottomwear, so I’ve been focusing on trying to whip out a few quick skirts that will be a little more adjustable as my weight continues to shift back towards where I started pre-pregnancy.

This is the Rae skirt from Sewaholic Patterns, and it’s the perfect type of project for me so far–easy enough that I could whip this out in the span of a few afternoon naptimes, elastic waist, and a simple style that will go with a lot of the tops I have that still fit. I used remnants from two previous projects–a skirt that doesn’t fit me again (yet), made from a black linen-type fabric, and a pair of tan linen pants. I don’t do colorblocking very often in my garments, but I didn’t have enough of either fabric left to make anything adult-sized, and these had been sitting around for awhile. So I’m happy that I finally found a way to use them up! Project leftovers are so difficult, at least for me.

I tried getting a side view of the skirt, but it just looked weird and still-pregnant, so this was the only decent picture I have of it. Sorry. I’m definitely going to make at least one more skirt from this pattern soon, but we’ll see if I can get it done by the end of August or not… I never know how much naptime the baby will give me!

2 thoughts on “a fabric merger

  1. Cute skirt! 🙂

    And well done on getting back into sewing with a young baby! It’s a whole different type of challenge really, isn’t it?!?

    (PS wrap skirts can be pretty good for that post-baby transitional phase. 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

