Valentino inspired dress Vogue 8828

Happy 2nd birthday, TMS!

Happy 2nd birthday, The Monthly Stitch!

To celebrate your birthday this month, I have sewed up a red dress using Vogue V8828 pattern. This dress is inspired by some gorgeous Valentino dresses currently on sale on Farfetch and Neiman Macus websites, which I really love. Maybe the best thing about sewing is you can sew things you like, fit you well and you know they’re totally your style, isn’t it?

Valentino inspired dress Vogue 8828

The fabric is ponte. I was nervous about the stretch of the fabric; therefore I used walking foot to sew the entire dress to make sure layers of fabric were fed evenly. I did not follow the pattern instruction as I think they’re straight forward enough. There’s an invisible zipper at the back which I think it looks far better than normal zipper from model image on Vogue’s website.

I really like this self-drafted camp collar with embellishment as it really adds a fun and unique touch to this dress. This is where the hidden number 2 is interpreted, in 2 ways I guess. Because the collar was sewed in ponte, this type of fabric was used twice. Or you can say the dress was sewed in combination of 2 colours.

Valentino inspired ponte dress Vogue 8828

I plan to sew another version of this dress with tiny bow at centre of the collar (sans the rhinestones). Of course it already looks good in my head (LOL) but I may have to think a little bit more as I’m afraid it would look childish in real life.

More details and photos are on my blog.

xo.

10 thoughts on “Happy 2nd birthday, TMS!

  1. What a beautiful dress! It looks stunning in that colour. 🙂 And the decorated collar is amazing – it takes the dress to a whole new level.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

