One is good, but two is better!

Happy Second Birthday Monthly Stitch! It’s such a treat to visit your blog every month to see what lovelies everyone’s made in answer to your various challenges. Thanks for creating such a unique blog that brings our community together.

In honor of your birthday, I’ve made two peplum shirts with mixed prints. This pattern is a tried and true for me, Butterick 6097,  and I was pleased to have the Monthly Challenge of “2” as an excuse to make it twice! This allows me to indulge without  calling my multiple ‘makes’ an official obsession, if you get my drift.
IMG_2304 IMG_3720
Lately, I’ve been loving the idea of mixing prints to provide contrast. It’s a great way to use up those many tiny bits of fabric I’ve held onto, leftovers from completed projects that were just too lovely to toss. I’ve got plenty of those, let me tell you!!!
I think I’m attracted to this Butterick pattern because the box pleated peplum creates the illusion of a waist, which, in reality, I do not seem to have. That’s one of the great things about sewing, don’t you think? You can discover ways to camouflage those Funny Little Figure Flaws by choosing the patterns that work best for your unique shape.
Thanks for looking at my shirts! More photos and details are available on my blog, Ellegeemakes.com. And Happy Birthday again, Monthly Stitch! And here’s too many, many more!  Happy Sewing!!!!

10 thoughts on “One is good, but two is better!

Join the conversation! :)

