True Bias Southport dress

Two is the magic number – Southport dresses

Hi there

I didn’t think I would get this post wrapped up in time to join in the Monthly Stitch second birthday celebrations, but once again I am squeaking in at the last minute. Happy second birthday – I have loved taking part in the challenges so far!

This month I have been sewing for a beach holiday and I made the True Bias Southport dress twice – first in white with black and then in black with white so it seemed like a perfect fit for this month’s challenge!The Southport dress barely needs an introduction – so many bloggers have made this dress since it was released earlier this year. I didn’t think it was my thing, but as soon as I started holiday planning I knew it would be perfect for hanging out at the beach and sightseeing.

For the first version in white I cut a 10 bodice, grading to a 12 hip. As several others have done I used the more flared pieces from the maxi skirt, but cut a shorter length. I also raised the neckline about an inch. The first version is completely wearable, but I found that there was excess fabric in the bodice and the skirt was a bit big. I had initially gone for just below the knee, but I preferred it above the knee and with some of the flare taken out of the skirt.For my second version I made a Small Bust Adjustment of about half an inch to the front bodice, cut a 10 for the skirt as well as the bodice and slightly reduced the flare in the skirt.

I think the fit is better in the second version while still being relaxed and I wore the dresses wandering round the weekly market, out for dinner and over my swimsuit after an afternoon at the beach!

Pop over to notsewsimple to read more and see the dress in action on holiday!

 

4 thoughts on “Two is the magic number – Southport dresses

Join the conversation! :)

