Vintage by Name

Vintage month!

Oh, I had such high hopes for this month! So many, many plans! I even have a 1970’s pattern all cut out and ready to be sewn up. On a vintage 1970’s sewing machine, no less.

But heck knows what’s happened – this month has fairly flown by!

So instead, I present to you a garment that’s vintage by name, if not by pattern creation date. The Vintage Shirt Dress by Sew Over It, made up in a vintage-style floral poplin with secret Hello Kitty faces.

Kittens and Flowers dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Hello Kitty faces!!! Squeee!!!!)

This was my first time using a Sew Over It pattern, and I rather enjoyed the experience. The dress came together nicely, and has some fun vintage-inspired touches, such as the rounded collar and the light gathering into the front shoulder yoke. The back shoulders extend over to the front bodice, which is what creates the yokes – a cute design element!

Kittens and Flowers dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I do declare, I feel quite 1970s-ish in this dress! 😉

(And maybe I’ll get my actual 1970’s vintage dress done in time for next month – I’ve cut it out in a fabric with birds on, so it fits the month’s theme. Yippie!)

Want to see more of the Hello Kitty vintage shirt dress? You can find it on my blog here.

Kittens and Flowers dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

4 thoughts on “Vintage by Name

Join the conversation! :)

