My Galaxy Dress

Hello everyone!  This was actually the last wedding of this year for me.  Sorry, in an earlier post I stated that that was the last, but I promise this is the last.  Let me tell you this wedding was a blast and the food was fantastic!  It was our good friends Lucy and Josh.

Galaxy Dress Front

I found this fabric at mood.com and I fell in love with it!  It’s a sparkly jersey knit.  I love the depth of the shimmer.  Depending on the light the fabric looks either black or shades of blue!  Below are two different showings of the fabric.

Photo Oct 20, 4 07 48 PM

Photo Oct 20, 4 07 39 PM

I made this dress based on the McCall’s 6754 pattern.  The only thing that I would say about this pattern, is that it was a little too big, I had to take it in a lot, to the point where I should have made about 2 size smaller than I thought.  This gave me difficulty in the sleeves because the dress is like a baseball shirt sleeve.

Galaxy Dress Side

I am really proud of the hem  on this and the finishing of the neckline.  I really wanted it to be close to perfect as possible, after going through and critiquing my own home made closet, I found that those two things I needed more patience with.  I would say that taking just a minute longer really did make it a lot better than my earlier work.

Galaxy Dress Back

What do you all think?!  How many more wedding do you still have left this year?

HAPPY CRAFTING!!!

If you want to see more, you can check out my blog HERE!

8 thoughts on “My Galaxy Dress

Join the conversation! :)

